Space Research Centers in India

Indian Space Research Organisation Bengaluru
Vikram Sarabhai Space Center  Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala – Rocket Launching
Satish Dhawan Space Centre  Andhra Pradesh – Rocket Launching
Space Applications Centre  Ahmedabad (For Remote sensing /Telecommunication)
Master Control Facility  Karnataka (for geostationary & geosynchronous satellites)
Liquid Propulsion Systems Centre  Kerala & Karnataka
National Remote Sensing Centre  Hyderabad
ISRO Telemetry, Tracking & Command Network (ISTRAC) Bangalore

Space Research Centers in India

Vikram Sarabhai Space Center (VSSC)

  • A major space research centre of ISRO, focusing on launching rockets & satellite, located in Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala.
  • The centre had its beginnings as the Thumba Equatorial Rocket Launching Station (TERLS) in 1962. It was renamed in honour of Dr. Vikram Sarabhai, the father of the Indian space program.


Indian Space Research Organisation

  • Headquatered at Bengaluru, with main center as Satish Dhawan Space Centre,Sriharikota, is the primary space agency of India
  • Major center to manufacture major Indian satellites


Space Applications Centre (SAC)

  • An institution of research in Ahmedabad, India under the aegis of the Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO).
  • It is one of the major centres of ISRO that is engaged in the research, development and demonstration of applications of space technology in the field of telecommunication, remote sensing, meteorology and satellite navigation


Satish Dhawan Space Centre or Sriharikota Range (SHAR)

  • A rocket launch center operated by Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO), currently the only Spaceport in India
  • Located in Sriharikota in Andhra Pradesh, was renamed in 2002 after ISRO’s former chairman Satish Dhawan.


Master Control Facility (MCF)

  • A facility set up by the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) in Hassan, Karnataka
  • Responsible for monitoring and controlling geostationary and geosynchronous satellites launched by ISRO


Liquid Propulsion Systems Centre (LPSC)

  • A research and development centre functioning under Indian Space Research Organisation, has two units located in Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala, and Bengaluru, Karnataka.
  • LPSC is augmented by ISRO Propulsion Complex at Mahendragiri of Tamil Nadu.
  • Engaged in development of liquid and cryogenic propulsion stages for launch vehicles and auxiliary propulsion systems for both launch vehicles and satellites


ISRO Inertial System Unit

  • A research and development unit of the Indian Space Research Organisation
  • Located in Thiruvananthapuram that specialises in inertial sensors and systems in satellite technology


National Remote Sensing Centre (NRSC)

  • Located at Hyderabad is one of the centres of Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO)
  • key player in Earth Observation Programme and Disaster Management Support programme.
  • NRSC is responsible for acquisition, processing, supply of aerial and satellite remote sensing data and continuously exploring the practical uses of remote sensing technology for multilevel (global to local) applications.
  • It provides the necessary trained manpower through capacity building in remote sensing applications.


Development and Education Communication Unit (DECU)

  • Located in Ahmedabad, aims to exploit the potential of space technology as an important tool to support education and development efforts in the country (Doordarshan, social science research, Surveys & Policies etc.)


ISRO Telemetry, Tracking and Command Network (ISTRAC)

  • The Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO), over the years, established a comprehensive network of ground stations to provide Telemetry, Tracking and Command (TTC) support to satellite and launch vehicle missions.
  • These facilities are grouped under ISRO Telemetry, Tracking and Command Network (ISTRAC) with its headquarters at Bangalore, India
India Yearbook English India Yearbook Hindi Economic Survey 2017

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>