Nobel Prize

  • 1896Dynamite inventor Alfred Nobel (Sweden) died,
  • Left fund to give awards in 5 categories Physics, Chemistry, Medicine, Literature, and Peace
  • Later 6th Category added Economics funded by Bank of Sweden exclusively
  • Started in 1901, Maximum 3 persons can be awarded in each category
  • A person must be alive to be nominated
  • Nobel prize recipients are called laureates
  • Actual medals are given on December 10, the anniversary of Alfred Nobel’s death
  • Get medal, diploma, and 8-million Swedish kroner ~ $1.1 million
  • Peace Prize is awarded in Oslo, Norway
  • Other prizes are awarded in Stockholm, Sweden

Nobel Prize Winners

The nominations are made by Nobel laureates, members of the prize awarding institutions, active scholars in different fields, and officials and members of diverse universities and learned academies. The nominations are to be supported through a written proposal about the candidate’s worthiness. There is no provision for Self-nomination.

Nobel Prize winners from India

Rabindranath Tagore Was awarded Nobel Prize for Literature in 1913 for “Geetanjali” – a collection of his poems
C V Raman Was awarded Nobel Prize for Physics in 1930 for his “Raman Effect”
Dr. Hargobind Khorana Was awarded Nobel Prize for Medicine in 1968 for his study of the Human Genetic Code and its role in Protein Synthesis
Mother Teresa A Yugoslavian nun who became an Indian citizen – was awarded Nobel Prize for Peace in 1979, for her service through her Charitable Mission “Nirmal Hriday” at Calcutta for people suffering from Leprosy and to those people dying in destitute
Dr.Subramanian Chandrashekar Was awarded Nobel Prize for Physics in 1983 for his theory on white dwarf stars’ limitation known as ‘Chandrasekhar Limit’
Dr. Amatya Sen Was awarded Nobel Prize for Economics in 1998 for his work in Economic Theory related to Poverty, Democracy, Development and Social Welfare
Dr. Venkataraman Ramakrishnan Shared Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 2009 with Thomas Steitz of America and Ada Yonath of Israel for mapping ribosomes, the protein producing factories within cells at the atomic level
Kailash Satyarthi An Indian Children’s rights activist had been awarded the “Nobel Prize For Peace” for the year 2014, jointly with Malala Yousafzai of Pakistan for their struggle against the suppression of children and young people and for the right of all children to education.


Noble Prize Winners – More than Once

International Committee of the Red Cross
  • A humanitarian institution based in Geneva, Switzerland
  • Three-time Nobel Peace Prize Laureate
United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees
  • Two-time Nobel Peace Prize Laureate
Marie Curie
  • First woman to win a Nobel Prize in Physics in the year 1903 and in Chemistry in 1911
  • First person and only woman to win twice
  • The only person to win twice in multiple sciences
John Bardeen
  • An American physicist; Two-time Nobel Prize Laureate
Linus Pauling
  • An American Chemist; Two-time Nobel Prize Laureate
Frederick Sanger
  • A British Biochemist; Two-time Nobel Prize Laureate


Nobel Prize Winners 2015

Medicine William C. Campbell Ireland For their discoveries concerning a novel therapy against infections caused by roundworm parasites
Satoshi Omura Japan
Youyou Tu China For discovery concerning a novel therapy against Malaria
Chemistry Tomas Lindhal Sweden For mechanistic studies of DNA repair
Paul Modrich USA
Aziz Sancar Turkey
Physics Takaaki Kajita Japan For the discovery of neutrino oscillations, which shows that neutrinos have mass
Arthur B. McDonald Canada
Literature Svetlana Alexievich Belarus For her polyphonic writings, a monument to suffering and courage in our time
Peace National Dialogue Quartet Tunisia For its decisive contribution to the building of a pluralistic democracy in Tunisia in the wake of Jasmine Revolution of 2011
Economics Angus Deaton UK For his analysis of consumption, poverty, and welfare
India Yearbook English India Yearbook Hindi Economic Survey 2017

1 Comment

  1. Nice compilation

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>