Chalukya of Badami, Pallavas, Pandyas

Chalukya of Badami, Pallavas, Pandyas


Chalukya, Pallava, Pandyas

  • 600 AD: 3 Main Kingdoms in South: Chalukya (Badami); Pallava (Kanchi); Pandyas (Madurai)
  • Primary Language: Sanskrit
  • Rise of agrarian economy + No megaliths + Decline in trade
  • Numerous grants were made to Brahamanas
  • Marked by beginning of construction of stone temple of Vishnu & Shiva
  • Jainism was confined to Maharashtra

Chalukyas of Badami

  • Northern Maharashtra [arr] Vakatas (Brahamanas) Succeded Satavahanas
  • Vakatas were Succeeded by Chalukyas of Badami (Vatapi)
  • Chalukyas of Badami claimed their descendent from Moon/Manu/Brahma
  • Capital [arr] Badami (Vatapi) at Bijapur (Karnataka)

Greatest Ruler [arr] Pulakeshin 2

  • Aihole inscription by Ravikriti in Sanskrit
  • Defeated Harshas Army advancing in Deccan on banks of Narmada

Chalukyas of Badami

Architecture by Chalukyas

  • Developed Deccan/ Vesara style Temples.
  • Developed Papanatha & Virupaksha @ Pattadakal (City of famous 10 temples)


  • Eastern Peninsula [arr] Ikshvakus (Suryavansh) Succeeded Satavahans
  • Ikshvakus were succeeded by Pallavas
  • Pallavas were called “Creeper/ Tondai / Robbers)
  • Capital [arr] Kanchipuram
  • Conflict with kadambas (Founded by Mayurasharman : Capital [arr] Vaijayanti)


Great Pallava Ruler [arr] Narasimhavarman

  • Defeated Pulakeshin 2
  • Occupied Vatapi & entitled Vatapikonda
  • Founded Port city of Mahabalipuram (Now Mamallapuram)

Pallavas Dravidian Style Temples

7 Ratha temple Mahabalipuram Rock cut
Shore Temple Mahabalipuram Free standing
Vaikuntha Perumal Mahabalipuram Free standing
Kailashnath Temple Kanchipuram Free standing

Conflict with Kalbhras

  • Pallavas, Chalukyas & Kadambas [arr] All 3 were brahamans
  • Followed brahamanism with vedic sacrifices
  • Made numerous land grants to Brahamanas
  • Kalbhras Patronised Buddhism & Buddhist monasteries
  • Land grants to brahamanas led to revolt of Kalbhras mainly to put an end to Brahamadeya right to Brahamanas

Rural Structure

Generally 3 types of villages, namely Ur, Sabha & Nagaram

Ur Inhabited by peasants who held their land in common & village headman collected tax & paid on everyone’s behalf
Sabha Brahamdeya or land granted to Brahamanas (Agrahara villages)
Nagaram Inhabited by merchants & traders

In Chalukya kingdom rural affairs were managed by village elders known as “Mahajana”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe to our Blog Updates

Instantly receive our best-selling book «10 Productivity Myths» in PDF for Free.

You May Also Like